The Bionic Sound Project

this girl’s journey to sound

Recognizing Sound (with my new Hearing Aids) Thursday, May 11, 2006

Monday, I had an hearing test with my new hearing aids…my sentence comprehension with my old hearing aids – 48%.

The new hearing aids – 74%.

Over the last few days (especially today), I’ve become more adept at recognizing songs, or even recognizing the artist (even if it’s a song that I haven’t heard before). Like earlier today, I was like “oh that sounds like Oasis”…and it was.

I’m also listening more in class to my classmates speaking, instead of relying as much on the interpreter.

Now I wonder what will happen if I do decide to get the CI. Will I once again miss the cutoff because I’m doing too well with the hearing aids (like what happened back in 1997)? They said the sentence comprehension test for the CI is different than the one that I got. So we will see how that affects my eligibility.

 

9 Responses to “Recognizing Sound (with my new Hearing Aids)”

  1. Allison Says:

    in case you missed it all: https://bionically.wordpress.com/2006/04/03/update-on-hearing-aids-and-cochlear-implants/

    you can also see my previous entries by clicking on deaf or cochlear implant tags.

  2. Allison Says:

    Makropulos, well they have a different test that they use to measure recognition for CI criteria. this one is much harder, faster, and more complicated.

    I do have to admit I asked Mandy to replay some of the sentences more than once because I didn’t get it.

    But yeah, it’s definitely something to think about. However, in the higher frequencies, I’m still completely missing the sounds…and these are the sounds that not even a hearing aid can catch.

    It was cool watching all the latest stuff they were using…I was like, awesome.

  3. Allison Says:

    Kathleen, it’s usually part of the regular audiogram test.

  4. Kat Says:

    that’s awesome!

  5. Aaron Says:

    What kind of hearing aids do you have, Ally?

  6. Halley Says:

    Wow that is an exciting difference! Hurray🙂

  7. Makropulos Says:

    Wow! 74% is amazingly good – it’s great that your new hearing aids are working so well for you. If I was in your place…I dunno…I might be having second thoughts about the CI. I mean, 74% is a *lot* of recognition and it would be awful if you were to get less than that with a CI. But hey, this is really good news about what you’re hearing, and that’s what matters🙂

  8. Kathleen Says:

    how does the sentence comprehension test work? and how can you get it?

  9. Christin Says:

    I know the feeling. For the first time today(finally wearing my hearing aids for about 2 weeks after a brief hiatus), I was able to hear a guy word for word in Anthropology of Religion today. Sent chills up my spine, and it was hardly the terrifying type. It was thrilling.


Leave a Reply

