The Bionic Sound Project

this girl’s journey to sound

Meeting The Doctor Friday, June 9, 2006

Today I met with the CI surgeon for the first time ever, to talk about the implant.

He seems really nice, and I am comfortable with him. I also met Megan, the audiologist, who came in as an interpreter. I was totally surprised, because I wasn’t expecting an interpreter in the doctor’s office. But she works there as an audiologist, and also knows sign language.

Both of them are very nice, as well as everybody else at the office that I met (except for the other audiologist, who wasn’t there). He did an examination of my ear, and physically, I look good for surgery, but I still have to do audiological testing (since my last test was more than a year old, and insurance companies want current test results). I also have to get an MRI and a CT scan as soon as possible. I also need to get clearance from the hematologist, because he won’t do surgery without his okay. They said that if everything checks out okay, I can get the surgery on the 19th of July.

I’m just a little stressed with mom’s upcoming surgery and being her nurse, and working it in with work, because in the past, my hours have been all over the place, with no consistency, plus the schedule is only 2 weeks in advance. This is going to be a challenge, because so many things are unknown right now.

 

Leave a Reply

