The Bionic Sound Project

this girl’s journey to sound

Evaluation with the Speech Therapist Friday, June 23, 2006

Today I met with Susan, the hospital’s speech therapist, to undergo the speech part of the CI evaluation.

When we arrived at the hospital, there was a crime scene bus, a police car, and the coroner’s van parked in the circle outside the main entrance. I was wondering what was going on, and was teasing my mom that it was like a episode of Law&Order. I was nervous going in there, because I had never been to that hospital (Desert Sam) and the directions on where to meet her were complicated. The other part of it was that my experience with speech therapists in the past has usually not been good (save for a few gems), so I was dreading going to the appointment. Mom reassured me that she sounded very nice over the phone, but experience leads me to be distrustful.

Susan was waiting for me at the Physical Therapy admissions counter, and after standing there for a few moments waiting to register, she turned to me and asked if I was meeting with her. She also had a graduate student “shadowing” her today, who also did some testing. We did the usual battery of speech-stuff, and I did extremely well on all of them, and they both were impressed with how well I have done with my hearing loss.

The speech tests help determine how well I can speak and understand words. The results helped her to figure where we would need to start in therapy, post-surgically. I won’t have to start at the very bottom of the ladder, but will be more towards intermediate training, because of my comprehension.

The whole experience left me feeling positive, because she was absolutely awesome. I am so happy that I can have her (and Karen) as my therapists, and now I have one for home and school. It’s a relief to know I have a team set up in both states, ready to deal with me after the surgery and help me learn to make the most of my implant.

 

Leave a Reply

