The Bionic Sound Project

this girl’s journey to sound

First Night Post-Activation Tuesday, August 8, 2006

I woke up at 5:50 this morning. For the first time since I had my first surgery, I was able to sleep through the entire night without having to get up to go to the bathroom, being awakened by the cat who decides that 3 am is a good time for a snack or to be petted, or for any other reason.

My first night was interesting from a post-activation standpoint, because even with the magnet off, instead of hearing the “jet plane noise” that I’ve heard for the last month, I could have sworn it sounded like a radio was playing inside my right ear, but I couldn’t understand it. It was like I could hear speech, static, more speech, changing-station sound, static, more speech.

Ha, I wonder if I’m getting a reception from the radio towers that are up on the mountain by my house. That would be funny. I could just tune in with my head, and scan stations.

I tried to put my implant on this morning, and it was dead. The magnet attached itself to the lamp, so I guess it was on. I need to unplug the battery so it doesn’t drain whenever I’m not wearing it. But I put a new battery on, and I got shocked again, so that was not good.

As soon as it’s 8:30 (in 19 minutes) I am going to call Megan and take her up on going in today. I want to fix it up so it doesn’t hurt my head so much. There’s no point in having an implant that I can’t wear because it hurts. The whole point of the implant is to have it on and have myself get used to it and learn to “hear” and interpret this stimulation of the nerve in order to understand it. Not wearing it is not going to help me get any closer to my goal.

All the electrodes work but #15, we turned it off (I don’t remember why…think because I couldn’t hear it and it was maxed out or no response).

 

4 Responses to “First Night Post-Activation”

  1. Allison Says:

    and you SO know who I would request.

    :-p

  2. Matt Says:

    I know you can’t, but if you could get the radio on your implant, I can so see you calling up the radio station everyday and requesting your favorite artist.

    Hehe.

  3. […] both told me that one other person has mentioned the radio playing in their head. Apparently in the past, CIs used to have RF interference, but it shouldn’t be happening […]

  4. Anonymous Says:

    Thanks for the auspicious writeup. It actually used
    to be a amusement account it. Glance advanced to more introduced agreeable from you!
    By the way, how could we keep in touch?


Leave a Reply

