The Bionic Sound Project

this girl’s journey to sound

Mapping Session #3 – What’s the difference between rat and dog? Friday, August 11, 2006

Today I had mapping session #3 (and it’s only day 4 of activation!)

I showed Megan yesterday’s entry and she was laughing at the different sounds that I was hearing. We started off with the beep test again, and I was able to better differentiate the frequencies between the beeps. My threshold has also gone up. I heard the most beautiful beep, that I absolutely loved out of all 16 beeps. Turns out it was electrode #13! My lucky number!

It was tricky today because I would reach the threshold where I thought it was loud enough, and then I would think we had moved to the next electrode, and I would tell Megan that it sounded soft. Turned out we were still on the same electrode, and my tolerance for that sound had changed during the testing, so we came back to it later. It was interesting cycling through/jumping from different frequencies. The most difficult part was determining if the volume across all the electrodes were the same, because loudness versus frequency seems exactly the same to me.

After that was done, we did the animal words instead of the months. I can’t tell the difference between dog/rat and horse/sheet (yes, I said sheeT, not sheeP). I got fish and cat right away. We tweaked with the program some more, and then I couldn’t understand cat, but could understand elephant. It’s frustrating when you can understand something with one setting, and then no longer can understand it. The other problem is that with one program, I can hear Megan but I can’t hear myself/sounds close to me very well, and then vice-versa with the other program.

I’m still having some crackling sounds, but not like before. It’s possible that it’s environmental sounds that I haven’t identified yet, but it is annoying to me because it overshadows everything else. Electrode #16 is the only one turned off now, because it seems to help reduce the crackling. After we were all done, and I was ready to go, I started to have trouble with hearing, so we had to hook me up again and do some more tweaking. I can’t wait till speech starts to sound so much better and not so distorted.

Megan is tricking me because I know that program 2 is the new one, but program 1 she will not tell me how it is different. I have a feeling that it is the one that I came in with, just louder. My homework is to experiment with both programs until I see her on Tuesday, and tell her the differences between the two of them.

The other part of my homework is to be listening to speech instead of music. It’s hard for me because I am more familiar with music than speech, so I would rather be listening to the music. I need to find some simpler audio books like “Cat In The Hat” and read along with it. The Harry Potter I checked out from the library the other day is not a good idea because it is read with a British accent. No wonder why I was having a difficult time following along with the words in the book. That and I didn’t have the DirectConnect 70/30 mixing program in my processor yet, which didn’t help with understanding sound.

I found a fellow CI user’s website in which he posted sound files on the differences in sound between normal hearing, hearing aids, on activation day, 2-3 days later, and 2 weeks later for him (doesn’t mean it applies to me). I know my hearing friends would appreciate this.

I went to drop something off at my mom’s work today, and her coworker Doug wanted to try placing magnetic objects on my head. Oy vey. That makes two.

I wish I could find my Touch&Tell from when I was a little kid. I kept some of those toys that I used for listening therapy, and donated the others for other deaf kids. This calls for an attic-raiding this weekend, I’m positive it’s up there. If not, I’m going to buy it off of eBay because I loved that thing.

Some resources that I found online
Auditory Training Resources and Guides (gonna get started tomorrow)
Mapping Sound Descriptors

 

6 Responses to “Mapping Session #3 – What’s the difference between rat and dog?”

  1. Allison Says:

    Jess,

    me either, but i knew it was kind of to be expected but now i have a better idea!

  2. Allison Says:

    Hi Mandy!

    You figured it out and got it right.

    I can’t wait to come back to school and see you in the fall. I’m looking forward to working with you and Karen and learning to maximize the potential with the CI.

    You can share it with the other audiologists at work, but I’m not quite ready to just go “public” yet, as it’s mostly for friends and family right now.

    I’m glad you enjoyed it.🙂

    ~Allison

  3. Allison Says:

    Ed,

    they need to be super-clear and easy to understand.

    i need to start off with something simple that I can read along with, then work my way up to more advanced stuff.

    but yes, suggestions would be lovely!

  4. Jess Says:

    Wow those sound files are absolutely crazy! I never realized how much of a difference you were going through over the past couple of days!

  5. Mandy Says:

    My first posting!
    Hey you! Ok so I couldn’t figure out how to post my name. This is Mandy (Allison’s Rochester Audiologist). This website is absolutely amazing. I hope that you will let me share this with some of the other audiologists at work!
    I am sooo excited to have you back in Rochester. My schedule is wide open for ya!

    Hugs.
    Mandy

  6. Ed Says:

    You can also try listening to Podcasts. I subscribe to several mainly-speech ones, and could make a few suggestions if you want.


Leave a Reply

