The Bionic Sound Project

this girl’s journey to sound

Happy Autumn! Sunday, September 24, 2006

Yesterday was the first day of Fall. I’m not an Autumn person, preferring Spring and Summer. But I am excited for it this year because of the plethora of new sounds it will bring for me to go in search of.

Leaves falling off trees, crunching through the dead leaves on the ground, the sound of biting into crisp apples, the spooky sounds of Halloween, the squeals of kids going trick-or-treating, pumpkin carving, candles flickering inside, corn rustling as you go through a maze, I have no idea what else Fall sounds like and am eagerly curious.

Next weekend I am going apple picking for the first time ever, and participating in some of the Fall traditions that we don’t have back home, in the desert. I’m very excited.

My goal for the month of October is to watch as many scary movies as I can, and see if I get more scared watching it with the CI. I already discovered that the X-Files sounds much creepier and moody back in August, so now I wonder if the same holds for scary movies. I don’t get scared by scary movies, just psychological thrillers.

Friday, I didn’t get to work with Mandy, so I played with S&B while waiting for her to arrive due to being delayed. 😦 I’ve now done every category in the program, and established where I need to work with each category.

Then, I went with my friends out to Target. While walking to the car, and listening to my friends talk, the only thing I understood was Stef saying “I don’t know.” Then, at Target, while showing Everett the new Halloween Jones Soda flavors, I answered a question he asked me. He said to me “Do you realize you just answered my question without looking at me?”

So yeah, that was kinda cool. But I still feel like I don’t understand a lot of stuff clearly or without some sort of visual clue. Patience is the key.

While talking to my mom, she said that she “thinks that you’re being too hard on yourself, but why am I not surprised? I’m so proud of you for all the hard work you’re putting into it, and I know it’s not easy on top of everything else.”

I spent most of the weekend without the CI, just because I didn’t want to deal with it, and now I’ve been felled by the sickness that’s been going around like wildfire on PHouse/in class.

 

Leave a Reply

