The Bionic Sound Project

this girl’s journey to sound

The Last 3 Weeks Thursday, April 12, 2007

So much for writing in here on a daily basis, but I do come bearing plenty of news.

1. I went to the store on March 29, and as soon as I walked into the store, I recognized the song that was playing. Eiffel 65 – “Blue (Da Ba Dee)”. I went over to the cashier and asked her if that was the song that was playing, and she said yes.

2. I’m starting to pick up more phrases here and there, but nothing all at once. It’s slow going, but patience.

3. The CI panel was excellent. It was fantastic getting to talk to other CI users, and hear about their experiences. In addition, we got to educate the audience about cochlear implants and answer any questions they had.

4. I have a new input device for my iPOD. I am no longer using the DirectConnect cable, as I’m tired of changing them around. This one works with both my hearing aid and the cochlear implant, and just requires the flip of a switch. It’s not the HATIS, but I can’t remember the name of the manufacturer off the top of my head right now but it’s called the Freedom. The best part, the cord is white, so I get to look “cool”. :-p

5. Mandy and I are both upset about the Harmony release news. I have to wait till July to get mine. More info on that in an upcoming post.

6. NAG is coming up soon, and Mandy and I are busy preparing for it. I’m nervous, but excited at the same time. It’s been interesting putting together the timeline and all the data for the booth.

7. I’m behind in writing back emails, so I apologize to those who have been waiting for a response.

Anyway, more soon! Hope all is well with you!

 

3 Responses to “The Last 3 Weeks”

  1. Elly Says:

    It would be lovely if you could remember the name of the manufacturer about the special thing you call the Freedom because I’ve tried to google it on the internet and it only refers to the Nucleus Freedom CI from Cochlear Ltd. So what was the name of the manufacturer?

    Thanks!

    Elly from the UK

  2. Ian Smith Says:

    Is it the Tecear (techear? Dunno.) It was just mentioned in the Deaf community on LJ, I think.

  3. Allison Says:

    Hi Elly and Ian,

    yep, it is the TekEar MusicLink Freedom! Thank you SO much!

    The referred post is here

    P.S. if you’re interested in a RSS feed for livejournal, it’s here!


Leave a Reply

