The Bionic Sound Project

this girl’s journey to sound

Fall Out Boy And The Birds Saturday, April 14, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — Allison @ 9:56 pm

Last night was the formal for Photo House.

My accomplishment of the night – recognizing the band that was playing. It was Fall Out Boy (who I have been listening to for JUST one month).

“Hey Jen, this song sounds like Fall Out Boy.”

“It is.”

“Seriously? AWESOME.”

“You know this one, Allison. There’s no way you can miss this one.”

“This Ain’t A Scene, It’s An Arms Race”

“No.”

“Hmm…ok…how about ‘Champagne For My Real Friends, Real Pain for My Sham Friends’?”

“NO. Come on! You definitely know this one!”

“I don’t know….*listens some more*”

She’s staring at me with an excited and hopeful look on her face, and finally I say, “Is it “Dance Dance”?

“YES! You got it!”

“Yay!”

Intuitively, I knew it was the song “Dance, Dance”, which is my favorite FOB song, but I kept guessing the other ones (the current hits) cuz I didn’t think they would have picked an older song from FOB.

It’s a record for me, because usually I have to listen to a song for several months in order to recognize it. And recognizing a band after only listening to them for one month off and on? Forget it.

According to iTUNES, I’ve only listened to “Dance, Dance” 8 times on my computer, I don’t know what my iPOD says about that, but it’s probably like 16 times.

Today I had a photo shoot off campus, and my friend Ed and I grabbed some dinner on the way home. We sat down to eat and watch an episode of House, M.D. since he has yet to see it.

Throughout the episode, I was getting very annoyed because I was hearing what sounded like faint “talking” in the background, but it wasn’t quite talking.

Finally I said to Ed, “What the heck is going on? There’s all this chatter that I can hear outside. What’s going on that’s got people talking loudly? It’s driving me crazy.”

“Oh, it’s the birds.”

Darn those birds. (Don’t ask about my “the birds” moment).

Mary Karol warned me that my first spring with the cochlear implant would be amazing.

Guess I’m starting to see a preview of noises to come, because it’s still unseasonably cold here. Oh boy.

 

One Response to “Fall Out Boy And The Birds”

  1. […] Yesterday, I hung out with Jenni, and I got to play with her birds.  It’s the first time that I’ve been around birds since I’ve gotten the CI (except for this spring). […]


Leave a Reply

