The Bionic Sound Project

this girl’s journey to sound

Forgot My Activation Anniversary Thursday, August 9, 2007

Gosh, I posted on August 7, but I totally forgot it was my one-year anniversary of my cochlear implant, as I pulled a ~11 hour shift for the second day in a row. Amazing how being super-busy at work will let things slip your mind, especially since I had been thinking all summer about how I wanted to mark my one-year anniversary with a small party as a way to say thanks to everybody.

Anyway, I’ve been hearing from several of you about your activation experiences (with activation dates of Aug. 6, 7 & 8). Each of you had a wonderful experience, albeit emotional, but that’s to be expected. Hearing about your experiences brings back memories of my activation day, as well as my feelings prior to activation. But re-reading all the entries makes me cry…especially the one about how I felt right after activation.

It’s amazing what sounds I’ve heard in one year. I could make a list of all the new sounds I’ve discovered in the last year, but that’s a project for another time, and I have to get up early to get one of my co-workers. But the CI has had a profound impact on my life, both through the experiences that I’ve been offered in the last year, both at school and work, and through people that I’ve met. And for that, I’m grateful to everybody and everything that has blessed me in this journey. I still have a long way to go, but the ride so far has been amazing.

Until you have been deaf, or are involved with the implantation process, most people will never understand the emotions behind being able to hear, and what a gift it is.

 

6 Responses to “Forgot My Activation Anniversary”

  1. Allison Says:

    Hi Abbie!

    Thanks so much for the wishes, and welcome to the blog!

    Just out of curiosity, how did you stumble across this site?

    ~Allison

  2. Roberta Says:

    God bless you, Allison. I am reading your blog since some months ago and I read your progress. You are a brave girl.
    Happy anniversary and may ALL your dreams come true!

  3. Allison Says:

    Hi Roberta,

    Thank you so much for your kind words and well-wishes!

    I look forward to hearing from you more in the future!

    Out of curiosity, how did you stumble across this site?

    ~Allison

  4. Roberta Says:

    Allison, I found your blog in a search with Google, and I think it’s one of the most interesting I read about CI’s and stuff like that (I could not believe you were so young:) ).
    It was too one of the first I began reading here and there when I was at the beginning of my own “hearing journey”. I will have surgery in Fall.
    I am looking forward! The next coming is going to be a special new year for me. At least I hope!
    Seeya!
    Roberta

  5. Allison Says:

    Hi again Roberta,

    I apologize for the long delay in responding. Keep me updated on what happens with your surgery. It is exciting and scary at the same time! I’m glad that my blog was able to help you out, and thanks for the compliments. πŸ™‚

    And really, I’m not that young. I just act and look like it. πŸ˜‰

    It will be a special year. Enjoy it, even through the good and the bad.


Leave a Reply

