The Bionic Sound Project

this girl’s journey to sound

Fun In The Rain Tuesday, September 11, 2007

Filed under: deaf community — Allison @ 11:32 pm

Nothing like getting caught in the rain (and being prepared with an umbrella), only to have a gust of wind send the pole of the umbrella to the side of my head, knocking the magnet out of place.

And then the magnet is stuck to the umbrella pole, while I try, in vain, to get the magnet unstuck, and stay dry at the same time.

The next thing I know, the umbrella is inside out, my cochlear implant is attached to the pole, and lightning is flashing brightly, rendering me momentarily blind.

Fun times. The CI made it home safe and dry. On the other hand, I was soaking wet.

This morning, I, in all of my brilliancy, left the house without my CI. I had put it next to my keys because that’s the last thing that goes on (besides my shoes).

For some reason, I thought I had it on, but I didn’t. Then my hearing aid battery died halfway through my shift at work. It was not a fun morning. Until the battery died, it really drove home how much I depend on being bilateral, and rely on the CI now as compared to the hearing aid (but with a weak battery…).

As I write this, 9/11 As It Happened is playing on the TV. It’s the footage from the morning of 9/11, with Matt Lauer and Katie Couric. I remember this footage like I saw it yesterday. I haven’t forgotten how I felt, or where I was when I saw the first images. There wasn’t captioning during many parts, leaving us in the dark.

Here it is, 6 years later, replaying as if it was happening again. I’m tempted to put my CI on and listen for the tones in their voices, for the details that I missed the first time, when it was live. But I don’t want to. I’ve already lived that day once. I don’t want to live it again. And there are so many people out there who live it every day of their life, probably until they die.

My point is…imagine hearing history. Five years ago, I did a presentation on Thomas Edison. Part of my presentation included an audio clip/movie of him with the first phonograph recording ever made, “Mary Had A Little Lamb”, complete with all the imperfections.

Then there was the episode of the X-Files where they talked about the pottery made during the time of Jesus Christ, and the nearby potters recorded the teachings of Christ into the bowl via the straw (archaeoacoustics, which was later debunked on Mythbusters).

So I ask…what would it be worth to hear history? It’s one thing to see it, but to actually HEAR it happen. Would it be different for you?

In happier news, I get to see Mandy for the first time since May 26!

 

2 Responses to “Fun In The Rain”

  1. Ian Says:

    I haven’t been paying attention lately – do you have the Harmony yet?

    Oh, and … I saw a new audiologist last week for the first time – I needed someone out on the east coast, right? Well, apparently in addition to the other strange parallels in our CI experiences, we now both have an audiologist at school named Mandy.

  2. Allison Says:

    Hey Ian!

    LOL, what are the odds of that happening…we certainly are living parallel lives in some ways!

    i don’t have the Harmony yet…but VERY soon! AHHHHH! So excited…(i am now, you’ll see in a few mins!)


Leave a Reply

