The Bionic Sound Project

this girl’s journey to sound

almost time to usher in a new era of sound Wednesday, September 26, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — Allison @ 10:41 am

I’m about 30 minutes away from becoming “Harmony-ized”.

Excited? A little. Nervous, very.

I think I’ve become somewhat complacent with my Auria, that I’m not sure how much different the Harmony is going to be.

People who have upgraded from the Auria to the Harmony say that it is mind-blowing, what they’ve been able to hear. I don’t want to get too excited over it, because what if it’s not that much different from what I’m hearing now.

I learned the hard way when I was first turned on. The hope of being able to hear at a whole new level, yet hearing the cacophony of unintelligible sounds in the first two weeks or so, were upsetting to me. Emotionally falling apart on Activation Day because my hopes were too high, that I would go farther than what was the “norm” for CI patients is not an experience I want to relive.

And now, at the brink of almost getting my hands on the long-awaited and coveted Harmony, my overall state of mind is cautious. I’d rather relish the delight of discovering a whole new range of sounds, than suffer the disappointment of hearing minimal change. Who knows if it will happen instantaneously? Is it going to be a learning process of discovery similar to activation?

A parallel that I can think of is that it’s kind of like counting down to a special event, except that once it’s here, the anticipation is gone. Sometimes that’s the best part…anticipation.

But I think my experience with getting the Harmony will solidify my decision on whether or not I want to go bilateral. At the moment, I’m currently sitting on the fence, trying to decide which side I want to jump off on.

What I want: greater richness and depth of sound, a wider range. A lot of it has to do with how the electrodes are positioned in the cochlea, and how much they have adapted, especially in the low frequencies.

Anyway, here we go.

 

4 Responses to “almost time to usher in a new era of sound”

  1. Abbie Says:

    I’m wishing you luck with your new harmonies!! I love mine. I pat it on the magnet for good luck🙂 I can’t wait to hear your experience!
    -Abbie

  2. Shannon D Says:

    Hi! Congratulations on getting your harmony! I can’t wait to read it! I have it too, and I’m still learning to listen, although it’s only been about a month. I love your blog, you certainly validated my feelings and experiences by reading yours. Thank you for sharing for the world.

  3. Brandyn Says:

    Finally! I’m so excited for you! Can’t wait to hear what you think of the Harmony!

  4. Tim Says:

    I’ve only just started reading your blog and I’m now thinking of you as you discover just what hearing is like with the new Harmony and the 120 channel software.

    I got mine roughly two and half months ago. The difference has been amazing.


Leave a Reply

