The Bionic Sound Project

this girl’s journey to sound

So Frustrated With The Harmony Wednesday, October 24, 2007

Filed under: Uncategorized — Allison @ 9:35 pm

Okay, it’s been a few weeks since I got my hands on the Harmony. I’m still not thrilled with it. I have a replacement processor waiting for me, but I need to get myself in to see Mandy and switch out processors.

Apparently AB’s headquarters is evacuated due to the California wildfires, so yeah, that’s not going to be happening for awhile.

Mandy has an idea for programming my processor differently, to make the t-coil function better.

The last few weeks, I’ve been listening more with my hearing aid than with my cochlear implant, and it’s frustrating. I’m thinking about switching back to my Auria processor because I know that one is reliable and works and sounds the way I want it to sound. But the one thing I love about the Harmony is that I don’t have to switch out the earhooks. Patience…but I just want to hear right now…for sound to be much more “natural” than what I am getting right now.

 

One Response to “So Frustrated With The Harmony”

  1. Hi Allison,

    I’ve been reading the archives of your blog and love all the frank details and information you give. I’m a bilateral cochlear implant user as is my daughter (she’s almost 12) and while we love our implants, it is important for folks to realize that you don’t just get the device activated and everything is hunky dory from that moment on. Having a CI (or two) requires a real commitment to the process and everything that comes afterwards and your blog really demonstrates that. I hope you are able to get your Harmony processor replaced soon and that things get back on track for you.

    I’m adding your site to my blog’s links and hope you will do the same with HearingExchange.com.

    Keep up the great blog!

    ~ Paula


Leave a comment