The Bionic Sound Project

this girl’s journey to sound

The Snow Day Video Friday, January 25, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Allison @ 4:23 pm

On cnn.com last night, there was a comment made about the Snow Day video which piqued my interest. The wife of a Fairfax, VA school superintendent leaves a voice mail for a 17-year-old boy who called their home phone number to ask why there wasn’t a snow day. She snaps, calls him back and left a voice mail in which she was screaming at him.

I was curious what the uproar was about, so I found the YouTube video, and my coworkers and I were watching it. I could tell from the tone of her voice that she was angry, but I couldn’t tell that she was screaming. Upon closer listening, I could sort of tell, but not the first time.

What do you think? Check out the video on YouTube or type in Snow Day.

Transcript: “This message is for Dave Kori. How dare you call us at home. If you’ve got a problem with going to school you do not call somebody’s house and complain about it. My husband was up at 4 o’clock this morning trying to decide the best thing to do to send you to school on a day when the weatherman is calling for one thing and another thing happened. You don’t begin to know what you’re talking about. And don’t you ever call here again. My husband has been at the office since 6:30 this morning. So don’t you even suggest that he purposely didn’t answer his phone. He is out almost every single night of the week at meetings for snotty-nosed little brats. And he may not have called you but it is not because he is home. It’s because it snowed. Get over it kid and go to school. Get an education. That’s what you’re there for.” – Candy Tistadt

My opinion about this whole situation is best summed up by Mark Fisher’s post, “In Cyberspace, Everyone Can Hear You Scream”.

 

One Response to “The Snow Day Video”

  1. Kyle Says:

    This is really surprising… I LIVE in Fairfax now, and this is the first I’ve heard of any of this. Thank you so much for sharing this!


Leave a Reply

